The Last Semester


     Today my son starts his last semester at Auburn University.  He will be the third generation in my family to graduate from Auburn.  It seems that just yesterday he was a little boy getting on the bus for the first day of kindergarten.
     My son is the most important person in my life.  I’ve worked hard to encourage him to be independent.  And he is, except when it comes to Mom’s money. I have struggled to pay for his college education and expenses.  Now, don’t get outraged…he has loans and has worked.  But, I have covered the rest of his expenses. I did this out of choice, not obligation.
     I feel like I am getting a huge raise come December.  I also feel like I’m losing something, but I’m not sure what it is I’m losing.  I’ve figured out that one thing that I’m afraid of losing is that close connection we have had all these years.  He will be on his own (he would say he’s been on his own for 4 years, but I know he has been living in “college world”).  I’m not, nor ever have been, a ‘helicopter parent’.  If anything, I may have let him do too much on his own.  I also realize that having him in Auburn gave me the opportunity to drive down Highway 280 once a month for 4 years and visit.  I visited my son and his friends, but I also visited the college and town that still seems like home to me. Don says that I am a different person in Auburn, younger, happier, easier. He’s probably right.  I know that I will miss those monthly visits to rekindle my youth.
     College was a special time for me, as it is for many people.  I told him when he started that his job was to go to class and get his education, but that there was plenty of time for fun also.  I felt qualified to tell him this because I went to Auburn and then to law school and managed to balance studying and fun.  My four years at Auburn were some of the best years of my life.  I hope that his memories of Auburn will be just as happy and that he will be eager to go back and visit once he graduates.
War Eagle!
Leave a Reply

