My continuing search for information on fibromyalgia


I have fibromyalgia.  Many of you also have fibromyalgia.  It is a very difficult disease (some call it a syndrome) to diagnose and treat.  So, I often read anything I can on treatment options.  Today I found this article :

http://www.fmnetnews.com/free-articles/article-samples/neurologist-approach.

I didn’t see any new information in this article, but it may be helpful to some of you.  I’ve tried all the drugs he mentions, but the side effects are too unpleasant for me.  I have found that my lifestyle choices are about the only things I can do to try to control the symptoms of fibromyalgia.  Also, I have a great therapist who helps me deal with the depression and anxiety that often accompany chronic pain.

One of the hardest things to accept is that I don’t look sick.  There is no xray or MRI or anything that I can show anyone.  That is also true for my chronic migraine disease.  So, very few people can understand why I can’t do what they think I should do, or what they want me to do, or even what I want to do.  One thing that I have learned is to take every day as it comes and not to dwell on the past or fear the future.  The only time I think about past days is to examine what, if anything, I could have done differently to avoid or treat the pain.  As for the future, I still have hope.  There are good days, like the one I had yesterday.  Today is a good day, so I enjoy those days and know that they are blessings.  I know not to “overdo” my activity just because I feel good, and I know not to lay around doing absolutely nothing.   As one doctor recommended, I try to do a bit more than I think I can on bad days, and not as much as I think I can on good days.

 

 

3 thoughts on “My continuing search for information on fibromyalgia”

  1. Fibromyalgia is such an interesting thing. I have been on a gluten free diet for over a month and it has really helped. I know others who have done the same and say it really helps. I took a foraging class last week and it took 3 days to recuperate, was really tired but the pain was not severe. I have recipe on my website “lifewithkeo.com”. Of course there is so much more now for those who want to avoid gluten.

    1. I have considered going gluten free, but it is such a restrictive diet. I am trying to cut down on wheat and gluten, as well as trying to avoid processed food as much as I can. Thanks for the tips.

Leave a Reply

