Sleep, elusive sleep


It is dark and quiet.  A fan is gently blowing cool air over my skin.  Lulu is snuggled by my feet.  Perfect conditions for a deep slumber, right?  I have been dozing fitfully since about 2:30 a.m.  This is the time of the morning when I am often sleeping my very best sleep of the night.  But, here I am, posting instead of sleeping. 
It may be that a migraine is still lingering, waiting to catch me unaware.  I feel it, just hiding in the dark recesses of my brain.  It may be the warning of a fibromyalgia flare.  Or, it may be that I just can’t stay asleep.  my brain keeps thinking when I want it to turn off for a few hours.
I love the feel of the air caressing my skin.  I am comfortable.  If I get up, I know I will be back in bed in a couple of hours.
I think longingly of being at the beach, where I could walk along the shore, my feet feeling the soft sand as I watch the sun rise.
Alas, I got up anyway. A little snack and juice, with some ibuprofen, should go a long way toward getting me another couple hours of sleep. I need the rest because I have a list of things I want to accomplish today. It may be Friday, but I don’t want to go into the weekend with a longer list.

5 thoughts on “Sleep, elusive sleep”

  1. I didn’t realize it was Friday until I read your post! Are you feeling a bit better today? I hope you are. Pray that the lingering pain has left and you will have a good day to accomplish your list.

    1. Friday was not good. But yesterday was a good day. No pain of any kind yesterday. The weather was gorgeous for August. It was only 80 degrees and very low humidity. Its hotter today but I am feeling well today also, so my mood is pretty good today.

  2. Congratulations! I have nominated you for the Sunshine Award. I hope you enjoy the extra little bit of sunshine sent your way today. To find out more about the award please check out my blog at: walkingthroughpain.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

