Today’s workout derailed


I was planning to be back in the gym today for a repeat of Monday’s workout.  Note, I said “planning”.  I don’t think its going to happen.  I’ve been attacked by a migraine that just won’t go away.  It gets a little better, then the thunder starts and it gets bad again.  We really need rain in central Alabama, but all we have had this day is lots of thunder.  If you are wondering why I used the word “attacked”, you probably don’t suffer from migraine.  It is the best word to describe the assault on my head and body. 
I hope that I can go this evening, but if not, I will do my workout tomorrow.  My goal is to get in three days a week of strength training.  Right now, it is a full body workout three days a week.  As I regain my strength, I will switch to four days, with an upper/lower body switch.  I will be doing cardiovascular, yoga, pilates and/or flexibility exercise on other days.  Wow.  Maybe I need to rethink this.  That is a lot of training to start with after a period of inactivity.  I think I’ve been watching too much of the crossfit and more recent, the Olympic games.  
As for this migraine, its happening too often.  I have chronic migraine, which was being helped by Botox shots (31 at a time) every three months.  I had my fourth treatment two weeks ago but have not experienced the relief I had with the first treatments. 
I will persevere.  This is a temporary setback in what is the first week of a lifelong journey.  Stay posted.  I’ll be back! 

5 thoughts on “Today’s workout derailed”

  1. Hang in there. Hopefully it will die down soon so you can get rest. It’s sad to hear that your Botox treatments seem to have somewhat stopped working. Hugs to you.

    1. Thank you Lori. I am not sure if the Botox stopped working for me or if it just can’t keep up in these dog days of summer, which is when my migraines are always worse.

  2. That’s interesting that your migraines get worse in the heat of the summer. Do you mind if I ask if you live in a hotter climate? Or maybe higher humidity? It will be interesting to see if the injections work after the summer starts to wind down.

  3. Yes, Lori. It is HOT and humid in Alabama in July and August. In fact, this year, the temps have broken records since May. I am not able to spend much time outside this summer. Air conditioning is my friend. It keeps me cool and dehumidifies the house. we haven’t had enough rain this year, and when we get rain, it is usually a severe thunderstorm, which is another trigger.

  4. Speaking of thunderstorms, we just had one blow up very quickly. As I listened and then watched, I was so happy I had no headache. I was a little too optimistic as I feel it starting now.

Leave a Reply

