Migraines and Botox


I have suffered from severe migraines most of my life.  Frequent intractable migraines that make me averse to light, noise, smells, heat, cold, food, touch.  I have tried dietary changes, acupuncture, yoga, pilates,  massage, chiropractic treatment, all kinds of preventive medication.  I cannot work due to the unpredictability of the migraines.  I study everything I can, try new treatments, and keep abreast of the latest research.  Yet, still I suffer.  Until recently.  I was approved for Botox shots for migraine prevention.  Now, before you raise your eyebrows and shake your head, thinking this is a way to get cosmetic Botox paid for, let me  assure you that it is not. 
In October 2011, I had my first injections.  32 injections, most of which are on my scalp, base of skull, neck and shoulders.  It hurts like 32 bee stings.  This is not a treatment for anyone scared of needles but when you suffer from intractable migraines 15 or more days a month, you will try most anything.  It worked!  I had very few headaches and only one or two migraines for two months.  When you have had a headache almost every day for an eternity, having an occasional headache is okay. 
I noticed that the headaches and migraines started back in mid-December.  So, I have recently had another round of injections and I am hoping for similar results. 
This treatment is changing my life!  I am no longer foggy- brained and sick from the preventive medicines.  I am not scared to make plans for fear of a migraine.  I no longer worry about severe weather, at least not in the sense that I will get sick with a migraine.  I am starting to exercise more, socialize more, read more, and my creative juices are running wild.  I knew migraines were debilitating, but I didn’t know how much of life I was missing.  I still haven’t been to a movie and I have to watch for certain triggers, but I am becoming a new person.  I’m really excited to see if this will work long-term so I can figure out what’s next!

1 thought on “Migraines and Botox”

Leave a Reply

